Redistricting Committee Contact Us

ATTENTION: Although the General Assembly introduced several congressional redistricting maps during the 2011 legislative session, none of the plans were enacted. When the session ended, two lawsuits were filed in Denver District Court to decide the matter. The cases were consolidated into one under the caption: Moreno et al. v. Gessler, Case No. 11CV3461, consolidated with Case No.: 11CV3463. On November 10, 2011, the district court ruled in favor of the "Moreno/South" map. The map is attached below. The court order is available here:

Moreno/South Map (Shapefile)
On November 17, 2011, the Colorado Supreme Court agreed to hear an appeal of the Denver District's Court decision. The Supreme Court heard oral arguments on the case on December 1, 2011, at 11:15 a.m. in the Old Supreme Court Chambers at the Colorado State Capitol. An audio recording of the hearing is available here:

On December 5, 2011, the Colorado Supreme Court affirmed the judgment of the Denver District Court. The court order is available here:, and a written opinion can be found here:

To use Google Earth to view and search the new Congressional Redistricting map, please open the file below. Please note that you must have Google Earth installed on your computer in order to view the file. Google Earth can be downloaded here:

Moreno/South Map (Google Earth)

NOTE: The attached map is from Denver District Court. The General Assembly is no longer involved in the congressional redistricting process. If you have any questions or would like to obtain any records associated with the case or with the appeal, you must contact Denver District Court at 720-865-8301 or the Colorado Supreme Court at 303-837-3790.


Redistricting Committee Members

  Senator   Representative  
  Rollie Heath   David Balmer  


  Gail Schwartz   B.J. Nikkel  
  Greg Brophy   Don Coram  
  Mark Scheffel   Dan Pabon  
  Morgan Carroll   Ed Vigil  
Staff Contact:
Hillary Smith*
Christie Lee *
Tom Morris * Phone: (303) 866-4218
Brita Darling * Phone: (303) 866-2241
Esther van Mourik * Phone: (303) 866-4215


If you are interested in receiving e-mail updates concerning the committee,
please click here to sign up.
Please send comments to :
Redistricting Staff
200 East Colfax
Denver, CO 80203